Department Administration

Richard Coffin
Richard Coffin

Richard Coffin, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor of Physical and Environmental Sciences

Office: NRC 3500
Phone: 361-825-2814
Email: richard.coffin@tamucc.edu
Website: http://icl.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Carbon isotope geochemistry to study biogeochemical cycles in the coastal ocean and estuaries.

Barbara Szczerbinska
Barbara Szczerbinska

Barbara Szczerbinska, Ph.D.

Assistant to the Chair, Physics Program Coordinator and Professor

Office: NRC 3503
Phone: 361-825-3916
Email: barbara.szczerbinska@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Neutrino Physics, Geoneutrinos, Dark Matter

Alessandra Garcia
Alessandra Garcia

Alessandra Garcia

Senior Administrative Assistant

Office: NRC 3500
Phone: 361-825-2814
Email: alessandra.garcia@tamucc.edu



Tenure Faculty

Hussain Abdulla
Hussain Abdulla

Hussain Abdulla, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Office: CS 211
Phone: 361-825-6050
Email: hussain.abdulla@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Focusing on four research areas of Organic Biogeochemistry: Environmental metabolomics; Fate of terrestrial dissolved organic matter; Effects of natural organic matter in the solubility of anthropogenic pollutants and Chemical characterization of trace metals organic ligands.

Mohamed Ahmed
Mohamed Ahmed

Mohamed Ahmed, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Geophysics

Office: NRC 3101
Phone: 361-825-3278
Email: mohamed.ahmed@tamucc.edu
Website: https://ahmedlab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Applying geophysics, remote sensing, hydrogeology, modeling, and GIS to investigate a wide range of complex problems

Eugene Billiot
Eugene Billiot

Eugene Billiot, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry

Office: CS 208
Phone: 361-825-2680
Email: eugene.billiot@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Understanding chiral separations with amino acid based surfactants.

Feri Billiot
Feri Billiot

Feri Billiot, Ph.D.

Graduate Chemistry Program Coordinator and Professor of Chemistry

Office: CS 207
Phone: 361-825-6067
Email: fereshteh.billiot@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Understanding chiral separations with amino acid based surfactants; distribution, fate and effect of endocrine disruptors in the environment

Darek Bogucki
Darek Bogucki

Darek Bogucki, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: HRI 118
Phone: 361-825-2836
Email: darek.bogucki@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Small scale physical processes in the coastal ocean, including remote sensing, numerical methods in fluid dynamics, biological-physical interactions, sensors, and LIDAR

Timothy Causgrove
Timothy Causgrove

Timothy Causgrove, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry

Office: CS 207
Phone: 361-825-2399
Email: tim.causgrove@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Spectroscopic measurement of energy barriers to protein folding using novel initiation methods; molecular modeling of peptide structure and dynamics

Jeremy Conkle
Jeremy Conkle

Jeremy Conkle, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Office: HRI 104
Phone: 361-825-2862
Email: jeremy.conkle@tamucc.edu
Website: http://conklelab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Fate, transport and health (ecosystem and human) impacts of pollutants, particularly emerging contaminants and marine plastics in coastal and marine environments.

Joseph David Felix
Joseph David Felix

Joseph David Felix, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Environmental Chemistry

Office: NRC 3202
Phone: 361-825-4180
Email: joseph.felix@tamucc.edu
Website: http://felixlab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Stable isotope biogeochemistry; Transport, fate, and air-sea-land exchange processes of volatile organic compounds and reactive nitrogen; Bulk and compound-specific stable isotope analysis method development

James Gibeaut
James Gibeaut

James Gibeaut, Ph.D.

Endowed Associate Research Professor

Office: HRI 215A
Phone: 361-825-2060
Email: james.gibeaut@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Coastal geology using topographic Lidar, remote sensing, GIS, and field surveys to measure and understand coastal change

Nicolas Holubowitch
Nicolas Holubowitch

Nicolas Holubowitch, Ph.D.

Professional Assistant Professor

Office: CS 242
Phone: 361-825-2987
Email: nicolas.holubowitch@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Electrochemistry, energy, and the environment; batteries and fuel cells; desalination; sensing of hazardous compounds

Xinping Hu
Xinping Hu

Xinping Hu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: SL2 104
Phone: 361-825-3395
Email: xinping.hu@tamucc.edu
Website: http://hulab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Oceanic carbon cycle; Ocean acidification; Sediment early diagenesis; Carbonate geochemistry; Stable isotope biogeochemistry

Patrick Larkin
Patrick Larkin

Patrick Larkin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry

Office: CS 203
Phone: 361-825-3258
Email: patrick.larkin@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Plant biochemistry and genetics; fate and metabolism of nutrients and toxins, diversity and dispersal, conservation.

Chuntao Liu
Chuntao Liu

Chuntao Liu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Atmospheric Sciences

Office: NRC 1109
Phone: 361-825-3845
Email: chuntao.liu@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Cesar Marquez
Cesar Marquez

Cesar Marquez, Ph.D.

Professional Assistant Professor

Office: CS 206
Phone: 361-825-5701
Email: cesar.marquez@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Richard Mclaughlin
Richard Mclaughlin

Richard Mclaughlin

HRI Chair and Professor

Office: HRI 311C
Phone: 361-825-2010
Email: richard.mclaughlin@tamucc.edu



Marine policy and law

Paul Montagna
Paul Montagna

Paul Montagna, Ph.D.

Endowed Chair for Ecosystems Studies and Modeling

Office: HRI 210A
Phone: 361-825-2040
Email: paul.montagna@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Ecosystem studies with a focus on benthic components, freshwater resources, water quality, ecosystem modeling, and environmental statistics; and integrating natural science with human dimensions research.

Dorina Murgulet
Dorina Murgulet

Dorina Murgulet, Ph.D.

CMSS Program Coordinator and Associate Professor of Hydrogeology

Office: NRC 3103
Phone: 361-825-2309
Email: dorina.murgulet@tamucc.edu
Website: http://artesian.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Physical and Contaminant Hydrogeology; Hydrology and Water Resources; Groundwater/surface water interactions; Coastal hydrogeology.

Valeriu Murgulet
Valeriu Murgulet

Valeriu Murgulet, Ph.D.

Geology Program Coordinator and Professional Assistant Professor

Office: CS 205
Phone: 361-825-6023
Email: valeriu.murgulet@tamucc.edu



Narendra Narayana
Narendra Narayana

Narendra Narayana, Ph.D.

Professional Assistant Professor in Biochemistry

Office: CS 130D
Phone: 361-825-3644
Email: narendra.narayana@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

X-ray crystallography for structure determination of biological macromolecules

Jai Prakash
Jai Prakash

Jai Prakash, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: CS 210
Phone: 361-825-3293
Email: jai.prakash@tamucc.edu
Website: https://prakashlab.weebly.com



Bioinorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Environmental and Green Chemistry, Spectroscopy, and Energy and Catalysis

Lindsay Kaple Prothro
Lindsay Kaple Prothro

Lindsay Kaple Prothro, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Geology

Office: CS 247
Phone: 361-825-4062
Email: lindsay.prothro@tamucc.edu



Paula Rose
Paula Rose

Paula Rose, Ph.D.

Associate Research Professor

Office: NRC 3510
Phone: 361-825-2710
Email: paula.rose@tamucc.edu



Isotope biogeochemistry; marine biogeochemistry; sediment biogeochemistry

Toshiaki Shinoda
Toshiaki Shinoda

Toshiaki Shinoda, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Atmospheric Sciences

Office: NRC 3509
Phone: 361-825-3636
Email: toshiaki.shinoda@tamucc.edu
Website: https://faculty.tamucc.edu/tshinoda

    Curriculum Vitae

Jim Silliman
Jim Silliman

Jim Silliman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry

Office: HRI 120
Phone: 361-825-3718
Email: james.silliman@tamucc.edu
Website: http://faculty.tamucc.edu/silliman

    Curriculum Vitae

Organic geochemistry: Climate and environmental change and Differences in organic geochemical practices

Jennifer Smith-Engle
Jennifer Smith-Engle

Jennifer Smith-Engle, Ph.D.

Program Coordinator and Professor of Environmental Science and Geology

Office: NRC 3502
Phone: 361-825-2436
Email: jennifer.smith-engle@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Coastal processes; coastal regulations and resource management; Late Pleistocene/Holocene coastal geology and geomorphology

Jeffery Spriko
Jeffery Spriko

Jeffery Spriko, Ph.D.

Professional Associate Professor of Physics

Office: NRC 1111
Phone: 361-825-6020
Email: jeffery.spirko@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Philippe Tissot
Philippe Tissot

Philippe Tissot, Ph.D.

Associate Research Professor

Office: NRC 2801
Phone: 361-825-3776
Email: philippe.tissot@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

My main research interest is the application and development of machine learning based techniques

Feiqin Xie
Feiqin Xie

Feiqin Xie, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Atmospheric Sciences

Office: NRC 3507
Phone: 361-825-3229
Email: feiqin.xie@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

David Yoskowitz
David Yoskowitz

David Yoskowitz

HRI Chair and Professor

Office: HRI 210B
Phone: 361-825-2966
Email: david.yoskowitz@tamucc.edu



Economics and ecosystem services

Lin Zhang
Lin Zhang

Lin Zhang, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: HRI 104
Phone: 361-825-2095
Email: lin.zhang@tamucc.edu
Website: http://zhanglab.tamucc.edu



Compound/Position Specific Carbon and Nitrogen Isotopic Analysis in Amino Acids and Application in Oceanography and Ecology. Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry of Greenhouse Gases in Alaskan Peatlands.

Instructors, Visiting and Adjunct Faculty

Galina Reid
Galina Reid

Galina Reid, M.S.

Instructor of Physics and Physical Science

Office: NRC 1110
Phone: 361-825-3685
Email: galina.reid@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Physical science education, learning and understanding the natural phenomena

Staff

Michael Garcia
Michael Garcia

Michael Garcia

Laboratory Coordinator I for Physical and Environmental Science

Office: CS 129
Phone: 361-825-2125
Email: michael.garcia@tamucc.edu



Joseph Hill
Joseph Hill

Joseph Hill

Laboratory Coordinator I

Office: MB1 110
Email: joseph.hill@tamucc.edu



Norma Jimenez
Norma Jimenez

Norma Jimenez

Laboratory Coordinator I for Physical and Environmental Science

Office: CS 129
Phone: 361-825-2125
Email: norma.jimenez@tamucc.edu



Nikolai Kraiouchkine
Nikolai Kraiouchkine

Nikolai Kraiouchkine

Instrumentation Coordinator for Physical Sciences

Office: CS 220
Phone: 361-825-3486
Email: nikolai.kraiouchkine@tamucc.edu



Kari Nease
Kari Nease

Kari Nease

Administrative Assistant for Physical Sciences

Office: CS 130
Phone: 361-825-2991
Email: kari.nease@tamucc.edu



Mary Teter
Mary Teter

Mary Teter

Administrative Assistant for Physical Sciences

Office: NRC 3500
Phone: 361-825-2681
Email: mary.teter@tamucc.edu