Faculty & Staff Directory

Administrators for the Department of Engineering


Photo of David BridgesDavid Bridges, Ph.D.
Department Chair
Office: EN 222E
Phone: (361) 825-2181
david.bridges@tamucc.edu

Photo of Ruby MehrubeogluRuby Mehrubeoglu, Ph.D.
Professor and Program Coordinator
Office: EN 222D
Phone: (361) 825-3378
ruby.mehrubeoglu@tamucc.edu


Hyperspectral imaging and image analysis of a variety of materials, material characterization through spectral signatures and spatial distributions, and thermal imaging and visible-range digital image classification

Faculty in the Department of Engineering


Photo of Jose Baca Jose Baca, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 222B
Phone: (361) 825-2144
jose.baca@tamucc.edu

Photo of Lea-Der Chen Lea-Der Chen, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Research; Director, School of Engineering and Computing Sciences
Office: CI 371
Phone: (361) 825-3046
ld.chen@tamucc.edu

Combustion and Gasification of Biomass and Alternative Fuels; Fuel Characterization; Fuel Cells; Immersive Evaluation of Vehicles; Solar Thermal Power; Wind Turbine

Photo of Rafael Fox Rafael Fox, MSEE
Instructor
Office: EN 216
Phone: (361) 825-2593
rafael.fox@tamucc.edu

Photo of Luis Garcia Carrillo Luis Garcia Carrillo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 316M
luis.garcia@tamucc.edu


Photo of Mahdiar Hariri Mahdiar Hariri, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 207C
Phone: (361) 825-3652
mahdiar.hariri@tamucc.edu

Photo of Jerry Hendrix Jerry Hendrix
Adjunct Professor
Office: CBBIC
Phone: (361) 825-4103
jerry.hendrix@tamucc.edu

Unmanned Aircraft Systems and Autonomous Operations

Photo of Jinha Jung Jinha Jung, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 320
Phone: (361) 825-3294
jinha.jung@tamucc.edu

Advanced remote sensing data analysis, UAS, remote sensing algorithms on HPC, Web based GIS development
Photo of Iltai (Isaac) Kim Iltai (Isaac) Kim, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 318
Phone: (361) 825-2734
ikim@tamucc.edu

Nano/bio chemical sensing, micro/nanoscale fluidics and heat transport, and energy conversion based on nano-biophotonics

Photo of Byung Cheol (Bruce) Lee Byung Cheol (Bruce) Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 315
Phone: (361) 825-4134
byungcheol.lee@tamucc.edu

Photo of Zhaorui Li Zhaorui Li, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 316R
Phone: (361) 825-4170
zhaorui.li@tamucc.edu


Photo of Jangwoon Park Jangwoon Park, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 320
Phone: (361) 825-2874
jangwoon.park@tamucc.edu

Human factors/ergonomics; Biomechanics; Engineering anthropometry; Digital human modeling and simulation; Usability testing; Kansei Engineering
Photo of Pablo Rangel Pablo Rangel, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 210
Phone: (361) 825-2559
pablo.rangel@tamucc.edu


Photo of Jian Sheng Jian Sheng, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: EN 313
Phone: (361) 825-3731
jian.sheng@tamucc.edu

Photo of Petru Aurelian Simionescu Petru Aurelian Simionescu, Ph.D., P.E.
Associate Professor
Office: EN 207B
Phone: (361) 825-5899
pa.simionescu@tamucc.edu


Photo of Dugan Um Dugan Um, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: EN 222C
Phone: (361) 825-3381
dugan.um@tamucc.edu

Photo of Hua Zhang Hua Zhang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 312
Phone: (361) 825-2467
hua.zhang@tamucc.edu

Hydrology and Ecohydrology; Water Resources Planning and Management; Multisource Remote Sensing and GIS; Water and Soil Pollution Control; Environmental Systems Analysis; Environmental Impact Assessment; Wetland Restoration and Ecological Engineering.

Adjunct Faculty in the Department of Engineering


Photo of Ronald Carlson Ronald Carlson
Adjunct Professor
Office: EN 219
Phone: (361) 825-3272
ronald.carlson@tamucc.edu

Photo of Anjin Chang Anjin Chang, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
Office: NRC 2100
anjin.chang@tamucc.edu


Photo of Cosmina Nicula Cosmina Nicula
Adjunct Professor
Office: EN 316A
Phone: (361) 825-3569
cosmina.nicula@tamucc.edu

Staff in the Department of Engineering


Photo of Christine Allman Christine Allman
ABET Coordinator
Office: EN 218
Phone: (361) 825-5876
christine.allman@tamucc.edu

Photo of Mayra Alvarado Ramirez Mayra Alvarado Ramirez
Engineering Recruitment and STEM Outreach
Office: EN 215
Phone: (361) 825-6025
mayra.alvarado@tamucc.edu


Photo of Diana Avila Diana Avila
Senior Secretary
Office: EN 222
Phone: (361) 825-5849
diana.avila@tamucc.edu

Photo of Jack Esparza Jack Esparza
Laboratory Coordinator II
Office: EN 114A
Phone: (361) 825-3897
jack.esparza@tamucc.edu


Photo of John Gonzalez John Gonzalez
Laboratory Coordinator II
Office: EN 222A
Phone: (361) 825-2667
juan.gonzalez3@tamucc.edu

Photo of Frances Jordan Frances Jordan
Academic Advisor
frances.jordan@tamucc.edu

Geospatial Computing Sciences PhD
Geospatial Survey Engineering MS
Mechanical Engineering Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors
Mechanical Engineering Technology Minors, Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors

Photo of Lori Shearin Lori Shearin
Academic Advisor
lori.shearin@tamucc.edu

Biomedical Sciences BS [A-F]
(Pre-Professional & Forensic)
Electrical Engineering BS
Geography Minor
Geographic Information Science Minor, BS, PB Cert
Geomatics PB Cert
Mechanical Engineering Freshmen*
Mechanical Engineering Technology Freshmen*

*Freshmen are defined as students with fewer than 30 semester credit hours earned