Dear Students,

My name is Chimene Burnett and I am an adjunct professor here at TAMUCC. I have taught Writing and Rhetoric, Seminar, Integrated Reading and Writing, and 0099 (the non-course based option for Integrated Reading and Writing. This past summer I taught a 5 week course to help students prepare for and pass the TSI. Additionally, I have worked with teachers from high schools around the Coastal Bend to develop training and content for high school faculty.

I was born in Lemoore, California in 1966. However, I don’t have any memories of that place because my parents moved when I was six months old to Corpus Christi, Texas. We moved around quite a bit. So, I have lived in Iowa, Illinois, Missouri, and Virginia. Somehow, we always ended back in Texas. For instance, in the middle of my 8th grade year, we moved from Virginia back here. I remember the counselors at Flour Bluff Middle School being unsettled that I had missed Texas History in 7th grade. They did not seem to understand how such a thing could have happened. To this day, my knowledge of Texas history is very shaky.

I love to travel and to “walk under a different sun” for little while. It really sends a jolt to the system to experience something wholly new and different. Internationally, I have made trips to the interior of Mexico, France, Canada, Belize, and Spain. One of my best girlfriends, Carla Cyr, lives in Germany. I hope to visit her there sometime soon! Domestically, I have visited NYC, Seattle,Washington D.C., San Francisco, New Orleans, Maui, and Chicago. This past summer I drove out to Santa Fe, New Mexico to work at a horse show! Most of these trips were done on the cheap, staying in hostels or with friends.

All of my life I have been a little bit crazy about horses. My parents thought that I would outgrow this fascination. But they have resigned themselves to fact that I must be hardwired for horses. My very earliest recollections are of the idea of the horse; my earliest attempts at art are primal, lop-sided, and equine. They remind me of the cave paintings at Lascaux, France. All of my adult life, I have taught children and adults to ride and show horses. I still do so, though on a very limited basis.

I loved my time at Texas A&M – College Station. Way back in 1985 College Station was a tiny town that owed its existence to a very large university. So, we had this great mix of mix of small and large. I had several different jobs while I went to school. I worked at the large animal hospital at the vet school. I sold tie-dye t-shirts. And I waited tables at this tiny Mexican food restaurant called La Taqueria. There was a crazy cast of characters who worked and dined at this restaurant. I loved going to work just to see what would happen next! Many of the people who worked at La Taq really bonded together. To this day, I still keep in touch with many of them, and periodically, we have La Taq reunions where we all get together drink beer and talk about our glory days!

On the home front, I have 1 husband, 1 cat, 1 horse, 1 dog, and 2 kids (or 3 if you count my son's girlfriend.

I am really looking forward to our semester and getting to know you and the other members in Triad L.

Sincerely, Chimene Burnett

Fun Facts:

I am named after a character in the movie, El Cid. El Cid was a real person and a hero who lived in Spain in the 11th century.

I am an ordained reverend and I have married 3 couples! My brother and his wife Veronica were my first couple! I see parallels in teaching and performing wedding ceremonies! Both activities are types of performance art.

I like the philosophy and the spirituality of Buddhism.

Music – all kinds! Mumford & Sons, Regina Spektor, Alabama Shakes, Zoe Muth and the Lost High Rollers, Of Monsters and Men, The Shins, Carla Morrison (She sings in Spanish; it’s beautiful!), and Lila Downs (more Spanish! She will play in San Antonio and Austin from time to time).

Movies – I like them quirky or foreign. Woody Allen and the Cohen brothers are three of my favorite filmmakers.

TV—Fargo and A Handmaid's Tale. Retro-wise – Six Feet Under and Northern Exposure.