My Family

My Husband, Mark...

  • Married me on June 17, 2006! :)
  • Graduated (from TAMUCC) with his BBA in Accounting in May 2007
  • Works as the Area Branch Operations Coordinator @ Airgas...they sell air...and gas

My Son, Andrew...

  • Was born on May 23, 2013!
  • Is in preschool this year. :/
  • Is pretty fantastic

My Dad...

  • Retired from the NAVY after 21 years in 1999
  • Went to TAMUCC, graduated in 2001 and again in 2009
  • Works as a Special Education teacher for CCISD's homebound program

My Mom...

  • Just retired from being the Children's Librarian at Janet F. Harte Public Library and Garcia Library
  • Graduated with her Masters in Library Science in December 2006 from TWU

My Sister...

  • Teaches English at Calallen High School
  • Got her MA in English from TAMUCC in 2009
  • Married her husband, Thomas, on August 1st, 2009. They had their son, Jackson, on January 12, 2013 and their second child, a girl named Brianna, was born in November 2015. :)
  • Graduated with a BA in English (with a History minor) from TAMUCC in May 2007

My Brother...

  • Graduated in May 2017 from Flour Bluff High School
  • Is a first-year student at the University of Houston this year and is studying Electrical Engineering

Pets: three dogs (Ariel, Melody, and Janie) and one cat (Zero) - Pictures


Where I've Lived

  • Corpus Christi, Texas
  • Cherry Point, North Carolina
  • Argentia, Newfoundland, Canada
  • Jacksonville, Florida
  • Dover, Delaware
  • Iwakuni, Japan
  • Corpus Christi, Texas

Education

  • Graduated as salutatorian from Flour Bluff High School in 2001
  • Received BS in Computer Science in May 2004 (minor in Math)
  • Received MS in Computer Science in May 2007
  • Completed PhD in Curriculum & Instruction in August 2014! Woot!

Teaching/Tutoring Experience

I have experience tutoring, grading, or assisting in the following subjects:

  • TASP/THEA/SAT Math
  • Beginning Algebra (MATH 0398)
  • Intermediate Algebra (MATH 0399)
  • College Algebra (MATH 1314)
  • Business Math (MATH 1325)
  • Intro To Prob. Solving with Computers I/II (COSC 1435/1436)

I have also taught the following Computer Science courses:

  • COSC 1315: Computer Literacy - Summer 2007
  • COSC 1435: Problem Solving I - Fall 2013, Summer 2014, Spring 2015, Fall 2016
  • COSC 3400: Skills for Computing Professionals - Fall 2014

Of course, I've taught UCCP 1101/1102 since Fall 2004, so I'm currently in my 14th year! :)


Programming Languages
Here are some of the languages I learned and practiced while doing my undergraduate and graduate study in Computer Science here at TAMU-CC:

  • C/C++
  • PHP
  • SQL
  • HTML/CSS
  • Java
  • Assembly/Machine Language
  • COBOL
  • ISETL

If you're interested at all, you can view a list of my undergraduate courses at My Courses


Favorites

  • Food: Spaghetti
  • Color: Black (or Black and Red)
  • Movie: Either The Wedding Singer or Chicago
  • Book: Anything Harry Potter
  • Sport: Football (to watch, not to play!) or Golf
  • Teams: Texans, Spurs
  • Type of music: Practically anything.
  • TV Show: Too hard. I like a lot of reality programs, though...
  • Harry Potter character: Hermione - she reminds me a lot of myself

Little Known Facts

  • I graduated with my BS in three years with a 4.0. Three years later, I accomplished my goal of graduating with my MS with my 4.0 still intact. I finished my last real course (ever!) in Summer 2013 with a perfect 4.0 record. Woot.
  • I am 1/4 Mexican, 1/4 French-Canadian, and 1/2 American Mutt!
  • I own FIVE football jerseys: Andre Johnson, David Carr, Terrell Owens, Mario Williams, and, my favorite, Jerry Rice
  • I have always wanted to see Tiger Woods play live. I went to the PGA Championship in Atlanta in 2011. Tiger Woods didn't make the cut, so we didn't get to see him that weekend. My husband, son, and I attended the US Open Golf Championship in Pittsburgh in June 2016, but still no Tiger!


My little guy, Andrew, at the US Open in June 2016!

  • I have been to two Lakers/Spurs playoff games. Both were Game 5s in the Western Conference Semifinals (2003 and 2004) and were decided in the final seconds!


I was there!

  • I play clarinet and a little piano
  • I sing in my church choir and often do solos
  • I was terrified of roller coasters until I was 19!
  • I hate bugs and anything creepy and/or crawly
  • I actually enjoy being short
  • I am naturally really shy/awkward and tend to avoid confrontations

Goals/Dreams

  • To teach at the college level! Yay! :)
  • To visit every Disney park in the world! (So far, I've been to Tokyo and Orlando)
  • To visit every continent
  • To get married and have a family (double check!)
  • To own a van...someday. We'll see.