Life Sciences Administration

Cherie McCollough
Cherie McCollough

Cherie McCollough, Ph.D.

Full Professor and Chair of the Department of Life Sciences; Program Coordinator - Science, Math & Technology Education

Office: TH 309
Phone: 361-825-3166
Email: cherie.mccollough@tamucc.edu
Website: https://DrCherieMc.com

    Curriculum Vitae

I’ve been a science educator for nearly 30 years and am currently Professor and Chair for the Department of Life Sciences.

Gregory Buck
Gregory Buck

Gregory Buck, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology, Assistant to Life Sciences Chair

Office: TH 309D
Phone: 361-825-3717
Email: gregory.buck@tamucc.edu
Website: https://sci.tamucc.edu/faculty/gbuck.html

    Curriculum Vitae

My current research focuses on the bacterium Vibrio vulnificus, which is found in marine and estuarine waters.

Ken Brown
Ken Brown

Ken Brown

Senior Administrative Assistant

Office: TH 309E
Phone: 361-825-3907
Email: kenneth.brown@tamucc.edu



Faculty

Keisha Bahr
Keisha Bahr

Keisha Bahr, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Marine Biology

Office: TH 242
Phone: 361-825-3707
Email: keisha.bahr@tamucc.edu
Website: https://www.BahrLab.com



We seek to understand how organisms respond to natural and anthropogenic environmental change.

Chris Bird
Chris Bird

Chris Bird, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology

Office: TH 234
Phone: 361-825-6024
Email: chris.bird@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

I am broadly interested in using molecular genomics to advance our understanding of marine species

Kirk Cammarata
Kirk Cammarata

Kirk Cammarata, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology

Office: TH 338
Phone: 361-825-2468
Email: kirk.cammarata@tamucc.edu
Website: http://faculty.tamucc.edu/cammarat

    Curriculum Vitae

We study seagrasses and their associated communities as indicators of environmental conditions and change.

Barnabas Daru
Barnabas Daru

Barnabas Daru, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biology; Curator of the Ruth O'Brien Herbarium

Office: TH 141
Phone: 361-825-3489
Email: barnabas.daru@tamucc.edu
Website: https://barnabasdaru.com

    Curriculum Vitae

My research has sought to address two main goals that are fundamental to ecology and evolutionary biology of plants.

Sharon Derrick
Sharon Derrick

Sharon Derrick, D-ABFA, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biology; Forensic Sciences Coordinator, Tidal Forensic Anthropology Services Laboratory Director

Office: TH 239
Phone: 361-825-3637
Email: sharon.derrick@tamucc.edu
Website: https://theabfa.org

    Curriculum Vitae

I have been a practicing Forensic Anthropologist since 2006.

Stella Doyungan
Stella Doyungan

Stella Doyungan, Ph.D.

Professional Associate Professor

Office: TH 232
Phone: 361-825-3686
Email: stella.doyungan@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

I have been teaching microbiology and freshman biology since 2008.

Joe Fox
Joe Fox

Joe Fox, Ph.D.

Harte Research Institute Endowed Chair and Full Professor

Office: HRI 210B
Phone: 361-825-2463
Email: joe.fox@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Fox is heavily involved in research development with Marine Resource Development.

Simon Geist
Simon Geist

Simon Geist, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: TH 337
Phone: 361-825-4164
Email: simon.geist@tamucc.edu
Website: https://www.facebook.com/geistlarvallab

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr Simon Geist started the Early Life History Research lab in 2015.

Xavier Fonz Gonzales
Xavier Fonz Gonzales

Xavier Fonz Gonzales, Ph.D., M.S.P.H.

Professional Assistant Professor of Biomedical Science and JAMP Faculty Director

Office: TH 235
Phone: 361-825-3824
Email: xavier.gonzales@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Gonzales studies the public health components of Nutrition & Medical Science Education.

Derek Hogan
Derek Hogan

Derek Hogan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: TH 137
Phone: 361-825-5883
Email: james.hogan@tamucc.edu
Website: https://derekhoganresearch.wordpress.com

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Hogan’s research is at the interface of population ecology and conservation biology

Chris Hollenbeck
Chris Hollenbeck

Chris Hollenbeck, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: TH 140
Phone: 361-825-6022
Email: christopher.hollenbeck@tamucc.edu



Dr. Hollenbecks research is focused on using modern genomics.

Ivy Jones
Ivy Jones

Ivy Jones, Ph.D.

Professional Assistant Professor

Office: TH 133
Phone: 361-825-3259
Email: ivy.jones@tamucc.edu



Dr Jones is a marine biologist with a specialty in aquaculture.

QianQian Liu

QianQian Liu, Ph.D.

Professional Assistant Professor of Biomedical Sciences

Office: TH 241
Phone: 361-825-2891
Email: qianqian.liu@tamucc.edu



Dr. Liu recently joined the department of Life Sciences as a teaching faculty.

Shawn McCracken
Shawn McCracken

Shawn McCracken, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biology

Office: TH 142
Phone: 361-825-3303
Email: shawn.mccracken@tamucc.edu
Website: https:/www.mccrackenlab.com



Dr. McCrackens interests lie in the ecological and evolutionary responses

Judy Metcalf
Judy Metcalf

Judy Metcalf, Ph.D.

Professional Assistant Professor

Office: TH 134
Phone: 361-825-3959
Email: judy.metcalf@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr Metcalf’s  primary focus in the department is teaching.

Fabio Moretzsohn
Fabio Moretzsohn

Fabio Moretzsohn, Ph.D.

Professional Assistant Professor


    Curriculum Vitae

Marine biology, ecology, invertebrate zoology, biodiversity and conservation, molluscan biology, taxonomy, taxonomic databases, deep-sea, and citizen scientist projects.

Riccardo Mozzachiodi
Riccardo Mozzachiodi

Riccardo Mozzachiodi, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: TH 335
Phone: 361-825-3634
Email: riccardo.mozzachiodi@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Mozzachiodi’s research interest is in behavioral neurophysiology.

Felix Omoruyi
Felix Omoruyi

Felix Omoruyi, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Laboratory Science

Office: TH 238
Phone: 361-825-2473
Email: felix.omoruyi

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Omoruyi’s research focuses on the changes in metabolic processes.

Dara Orbach
Dara Orbach

Dara Orbach, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Marine Biology

Office: TH 231
Phone: 361-825-3217
Email: dara.orbach@tamucc.edu
Website: https://daraorbach.weebly.com



The FABEMM! (Functional Anatomy and Behavioral Ecology of Marine Mammals!) lab uses innovative techniques.

Frank Pezold
Frank Pezold

Frank Pezold, Ph.D.

Dean and Life Sciences Professor

Office: CI 372
Phone: 361-825-2349
Email: frank.pezold@tamucc.edu
Website: http://fishlab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Fish diversity, systematics, ecology and conservation

Jennifer Pollack
Jennifer Pollack

Jennifer Pollack, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Harte Research Institute Endowed Chair

Office: HRI 210A
Phone: 361-825-2041
Email: jennifer.pollack@tamucc.edu
Website: https://www.harteresearchinstitute.org/research/coastal-conservation-restoration

    Curriculum Vitae

In the Coastal Conservation and Restoration group, we provide science-based information.

David Portnoy
David Portnoy

David Portnoy, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Ruth A. Campbell Professor of Marine Biology

Office: TH 138
Phone: 361-825-2859
Email: david.portnoy@tamucc.edu
Website: https://marinegenomicslab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Portnoy is currently an Associate Professor in Marine Biology.

Ed Proffitt
Ed Proffitt

Ed Proffitt, Ph.D.

Full Professor of Life Sciences

Office: TH 139
Phone: 361-825-2358
Email: ed.proffitt@tamucc.edu
Website: https://edproffitt.wixsite.com/coastal-ecology



The Ed Proffitt & Donna Devlin Coastal Ecology and Genetics lab is focused on ecological consequences of global climate change.

Brandi Reese
Brandi Reese

Brandi Reese, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Microbial Ecology

Office: SL1 105
Phone: 361-825-3022
Email: brandi.reese@tamucc.edu
Website: http://reeselab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Microbial ecology, Geomicrobiology, Biogeochemistry, Molecular microbiology, Genetics, Transcriptomics, Marine deep subsurface biosphere

John Scarpa
John Scarpa

John Scarpa, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Aquaculture

Office: TH 339
Phone: 361-825-2369
Email: john.scarpa@tamucc.edu
Website: https://sci.tamucc.edu/departments/life-sciences/fisheries-and-mariculture/index.html

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Scarpa’s current research includes developing oyster mariculture.

Frauke Seemann
Frauke Seemann

Frauke Seemann, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Marine Biomedical Science

Office: TH 332
Phone: 361-825-2683
Email: frauke.seemann@tamucc.edu
Website: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-7294-6829



Being a globe trotter (Hong Kong (Postdoc), France (Ph.D. ecotoxicology)) with German roots (M.Sc. marine biology).

Jean Sparks
Jean Sparks

Jean Sparks, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Director of Clinical Laboratory Science

Office: TH 237
Phone: 361-825-2359
Email: jean.sparks@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

I have interests in how therapeutic herbs are used locally.

Greg Stunz
Greg Stunz

Greg Stunz, Ph.D.

Professor of Marine Biology and Endowed Chair for Fisheries and Ocean Health

Office: HRI 311C
Phone: 361-825-3254
Email: greg.stunz@tamucc.edu
Website: http://fisheries.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Marine biology, marine ecology, marine fisheries ecology, fisheries, estuarine ecology, environmental biology

Emad Tahtamouni
Emad Tahtamouni

Emad Tahtamouni, Ph.D.

Professional Assistant Professor

Office: TH 132
Phone: 361-825-5819
Email: m-emad.tahtamouni@tamucc.edu



I’ve been a biology educator for nearly six years and currently a Professional Assistant Professor.

Jeffrey Turner
Jeffrey Turner

Jeffrey Turner, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Marine Biology

Office: TH 240
Phone: 361-825-6206
Email: jeffrey.turner@tamucc.edu
Website: https://turnerlab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Welcome to the Laboratory for Microbial and Environmental Genomics (micro-omics).

Benjamin Walther
Benjamin Walther

Benjamin Walther, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Marine Biology

Office: TH 336
Phone: 361-825-4168
Email: benjamin.walther@tamucc.edu
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/waltherfishlab

    Curriculum Vitae

My lab studies fish migration, trophic interactions and ecosystem processes.

Michael Wetz
Michael Wetz

Michael Wetz, Ph.D.

Professor of Marine Biology and Harte Research Institute Endowed Chair

Office: HRI 316
Phone: 361-825-2132
Email: michael.wetz@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Wetz’s lab is working on several issues related to coastal ecosystem processes.

Kim Withers
Kim Withers

Kim Withers, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Interim Director of Center for Coastal Studies

Office: NRC 3205
Phone: 361-825-5907
Email: kim.withers@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

I have been at Texas A&M University -Corpus Christi for the last 26 years.

Wei Xu
Wei Xu

Wei Xu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Marine Biomedical Science

Office: TH 331
Phone: 361-825-2676
Email: wei.xu@tamucc.edu
Website: https://leh.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

As the Principle Investigator of the Laboratory of Environmental Health (LEH).

Paul Zimba
Paul Zimba

Paul Zimba, Ph.D.

Professor and Former Director of the Center for Coastal Studies

Office: NRC 3213
Phone: 361-825-2768
Email: paul.zimba@tamucc.edu
Website: https://ccs.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

I have worked in aquatic ecology for over 30 years.

Staff

Sue Burgess
Sue Burgess

Sue Burgess

Administrative Associate IV

Office: TH 309G
Phone: 361-825-2005
Email: suzann.burgess@tamucc.edu



I am responsible for supporting the growth of the department.

Derrick Chelikowsky
Derrick Chelikowsky

Derrick Chelikowsky

Microbiology Laboratory Coordinator I

Office: TH 202A
Phone: 361-825-4073
Email: derrick.chelikowsky@tamucc.edu



I manage the Principles of Microbiology and Microbiology labs.

Jessica Han

Jessica Han

Clinical Laboratory Sciences Coordinator I

Office: TH 142
Phone: 361-825-3628
Email: jessica.han@tamucc.edu



I have more than ten years of experience working research labs.

Philip Jose
Philip Jose

Philip Jose

Biology Laboratory Coordinator I

Office: TH 301B
Phone: 361-825-5757
Email: philip.jose@tamucc.edu



I graduated from TAMU-CC in 2014 with a marine biology MS.

Sarah Wood
Sarah Wood

Sarah Wood

Administrative Associate IV

Office: TH 309F
Phone: 361-825-2754
Email: sarah.wood@tamucc.edu



I am responsible for supporting the growth of the department.